?

Log in

No account? Create an account

July 29th, 2008

Yummy!

Cute girl with pubes.

"Chasing Tail."

The trailer for the Oliver Stone movie, "W."

Fun FAQ: The dude who plays Dobby The House Elf in the Harry Potter films is playing Karl Rove.

http://www.wjno.com/cc-common/news/sections/newsarticle.html?feed=244038&article=4013167

Heebie Jeebies

Rome Girl is paying our electric bill today.

For some reason whenever we pay the rent or the electric bill I get really, really paranoid and anxious.

I have no idea why.

When my shrink comes back from vacation next month I'll have to explore this.

The good news is that after we pay the electric bill today we won't have to pay it for another three to four months.

The bad news is we are still 28 days behind on our rent (in a country where you have to be 18 months behind to get evicted.)

C'est la vie.

Photobucket

The Sex

I realized today that my blog - or at least the collective LJ thing I'm part of - has gotten a minimum of five people laid.

Anyone else ever had anyone get it on after reading your blog for a while?

From Craigslist

It's since been removed, but I found a cached copy and it's too good not to repost here. I almost think that Bret Ellis or Jay McInerney wrote it as a joke.

WANTED: Nanny/Family Assistant to start 2nd week in September (Upper East Side)
Reply to: comm-772852266@craigslist.org
Date: 2008-07-28, 8:25AM EDT


We're a family of ten. My husband and myself, our 5 children, 2 dogs, and cat. For as long as we've lived in the city we have been lucky to have the same nanny/family assistant. Originally starting out as my eldest son's baby nurse and staying with us for nearly 19 years.

I have had a hard time meeting people that have been right for the position. We've sought help from agencies and other nanny finding sites and have now moved here in search for some more dynamic candidates.

I feel that I must be up front, this job is a VERY much so a FULL TIME job with NO flexibility. Both my husband and self work full time in jobs where it is essential for us to work long hours (hedge fund and fashion industry).

The hours will generally be:
Monday- OFF, however, you may have some errands to run for the family.
Tuesday- 9am-9/10pm
Wednesday- 7am-9pm
Thursday/Friday/Saturday- 3pm-11pm (You may stay much later, you may get to leave much earlier. We often have events on these nights.)
Sunday- 10am-3pm (1st and 3rd weekend of the month)
7pm-10pm (2nd weekend of the month)
OFF (4th weekend in the month)


I do need to be upfront when I say my children can be a bit difficult. This job is very nontraditional in the sense that my kids are older and still need someone to "parent" them 24/7. My oldest son will be starting his first year at Columbia in the fall and will not be around much, but, will probably still need support. Picking up his dry cleaning, if he needs anything for his apartment, scheduling doctor appointments, anything to help him and his daily life run smoothly.

As for my 2nd son- he doesn't need to be cared for. He will pretty much look after himself but I do want someone that will be concerned with what he's doing with his time at home. Making sure he's studying and insisting that he needs to be more polite. He has a streak of rude.

The younger three, well, they're the one's you will have the most interaction with. They are 14 (son), 12 (daughter), and 9 (daughter). They are extremely particular and each have their own set of demands and little "isms" about them, but, I assure you they are entertaining, charming, and delightful most of the time.

Mostly impart to my children's ages the nanny will be expected to do some "family assistant" type jobs. This includes food shopping, light errand running, coordination of children's school and personal schedules in a way that both my husband and I can access, walking dogs, and interfacing with our assistants.

You should be:
Younger and ambitious. This job is a lot of hours and not always easy for people that are not in shape to keep up with my kids.

MUST be 100% legal and able to speak PERFECT English.

MUST be presentable/polished.

MUST have SOME college.

City savvy and Blackberry Accessible.

HONEST.

AND willing to have at least a 2 year contract.

Compensation will be:
18 days paid vacation. Half to be determined by you the rest by us.
Health/Dental benefits (full, great plan) (after 90 days)

60-75 k DOE

Paid over time at the rate of $60 an hour for any amount of time worked over 50 hours.

Option to live in our beautiful second apartment located on 84th between Park and Lex for a reduced rent.

To apply for this job please submit the following:

"Resume" outlining your child care experience.

A brief explanation of why you want to apply.

My family and I will review these as they come in and will contact you with in 24 hours if we'd like to move you further along in the interview process. Please make the subject of your email- Nanny of 10 Position




* it's NOT ok to contact this poster with services or other commercial interests

PostingID: 772852266

Ack! It Sucks To Be Poor!

Fuck!

The electric bill is 120 euros ($200) more than we thought it would be - which means we can't pay it until tomorrow when checks clear. And, we were going to pay our Internet bill today (before they turned it off this afternoon), but now will have to put that off until some additional money clears in later this week, so I'll be working out of the Vert Anglais for the next couple of days.

Plus, the electric company no longer accepts online payments so I'm going to either have to figure out their nearly impossible voice menu payment system or talk Hippy IT Boy into making the phone call for me.

I'm preparing to eat a lot of pasta this week.

Public Service Announcement For New Yorkers

Gawker is reporting that while MetroCard machines are not accepting credit cards today they are still charging the cards even though they are not giving you your new MetroCard.

Apparently there are no signs warning people of this.

So, the bottom line - don't stick your credit or debit card into a MetroCard machine today!

From The Freelance Job Boards

Project Description:

Write mission statement for non-profit. Requirements that providers will need to know: It is a non-profit that will educate young people and public schools on the importance of eating healthy, through Hip Hop.

Well.

There is a group of professional English teachers in the Vert Anglais tonight.

I just heard one of them say to a French person, "You speak good English."

Seriously.

June 2019

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Tags

Powered by LiveJournal.com